Young Adults 18 to 24 year olds
Alvin Street-Wise Driving Schools is now authorized to administer the “Road Test” to those 18 to 24 who have:
Adults 25 years old and older
Alvin Street-Wise Driving School is now authorized able to administer the “Road Test” to those 25 and older who have:
Impact Texas Young Drivers (ITYD)
The Impact Texas Young Drivers program (ITYD) has been added as a free, 1 hour informational video that provides educational information on the dangers of distracted driving. The video also shares real life stories of people and their families who were impacted as a result of distracted driving. This course is for drivers 18 years of age and older who may or may not have completed a driver education course.
You must present your unexpired learner license to the Certified Examiner. You will be given an opportunity to ask all your questions before your driving test begins. Once the test starts, the Certified Examiner is not permitted to engage in general conversation. Also, you will be required to present certain documents to the instructor prior to your test. Click the button to the right to check your eligibility!
Before you schedule your road test, check to make sure you have all the required documents in order to be eligible to take the road test.
No pets or unauthorized passengers are allowed in the vehicle during the test. The test takes about 20 minutes. The goal of the driving test is to determine your ability to safely operate a vehicle and obey traffic laws. You will be graded on your ability to demonstrate the following maneuvers on your road test:
• Backing in a straight line
• Parallel parking
• Approaching intersections
• Stopping in regular traffic conditions
• Controlling the vehicle
• Observing traffic
• Maintaining vehicle position (turning, stopping, etc.)
• Using signals
If at any time a dangerous or illegal maneuver is performed, the driving test will be immediately stopped and will result in an automatic failure.
You will be informed if you passed or failed the test, and you will receive detailed feedback on the areas where you did well and the areas where you need to improve. If you do not pass the driving test, we will hold you paperwork in our office, and you can attempt the test again as soon as you feel that you are ready. The payment of $60 will be valid for 90 days and two attempts. After 90 days — or two failed tests — a new fee must be submitted.